The Best Laid Plans…

still don’t result in new floors.

Are.you.kidding.me?

All that prep work. All that disorder. All these years of waiting!

And we get to wait one more day. Hopefully.

I was almost in tears when David called me at work (I should preface this with the fact that my insomnia is presently ruling my nights.). Long, drawn out story short; the supplier and the installer had differing opinions on whether or not our new floors arrived damaged. Eventually, we received a discount, with assurances that the massive project would be tackled tomorrow. I’m just going to hold my breath…and fight the tremendous beast of a non-functional home for another day or two.

Meanwhile, David met us at therapy with cupcakes and coffee (Say what? Romance from David Apple? I like it!). 

  
Although, Jude was totally confused to see his Daddy at therapy, lol. “Uh, Daddy? Who see me? Who see me?” translation, who is staying with me at therapy. Cutie pie.

This day brought one wrench after another. I learned that I have to work next Monday, which means my Mondays are no more (summer session I will resume a four day schedule). I spent most of Jude’s therapy time trying to sort through my work for summer while trying not to get anxious over the lack of noise from my phone. You see, we were supposed to have an “interview” with the hospital performing Jude’s MRI and endoscopy next month (This is a different hospital than we’ve been before…um, his fifth hospital? Different doctors prefer different facilities it seems). For whatever reason, they didn’t call, which just further unsettled my nerves.

All traces of anxiety faded for a bit when I took Jude to his last school system speech session of the year. The elementary school was having a huge pep rally to gear the kids up for their end-of-grade testing (Livie was totally inspired by the fun as the teachers participated in silly games and contests). The gym was rocking! And Jude’s speech therapy is right across the hall. Jude literally ran out of the therapy room over eight times to listen to the music before declaring it “too loud” and dancing in the hall way. It was so cute! He’d run into therapy and work, then dash out in the hall, check the gym doors, and repeat! His SLP thought he would have loved it if he’d had noise canceling headphones to offset the over stimulation. Super fun end to what proved to be an intense transition into school based services.

We gathered “our girls” and headed home for a surprise. The girls, all as disappointed as their parents over the lack of new floors, were easily appeased with a trip to the pool after school. David at home in the middle of the day has its perks!

Jude stayed home with me to unwind from his full day of school and therapy and await Adriana’s bus arrival. That boy is all about Rescue Bots on Netflix, while working one of his 3532 puzzles. I love that…even if Rescue Bots isn’t my preferred background noise as I tackle my summer plans for work 😉

Thank goodness, pizza (No, I’m not counting my carbs today, thank you very much :p) was already on the agenda for tonight; because a) my entire pantry is in my hall closet (and my oven and my fridge are relocated as well) and b) I’m emotionally spent!