Monnnnnndaaaaaay

It was kind of a ridiculously long day (in case my title somehow misled you 😉 )

Up at our usual six o’clock hour to ready the kiddos for school and see Adriana off on the bus. 

By 8am, having dropped off the remaining Apple girls at their schools, I was outside, in the world’s classiest line, at the DMV. Let me just say, I had absolutely irrational anxiety regarding my license renewal. Bless me. Forty five minutes later, the dreaded deed was done.

We celebrated being ahead of schedule with a luxuriously delicious coffee at a new-to-us coffee shop.

I have no idea what my hair is doing here

Funny story, Jude’s being all adorable in the coffee shop, browsing the curious collection of books…and then he says, “Oh, my Livie would love this book!”

   

livie is obscessed with dogs; but prefers them alive 😉

Next stop on the never ending day, Jude’s much anticipated trip to the neurologist’s office. 

 I had three areas of concern, and I all but pounced on the lady to get answers. 

  1. Tethered cord as a possible cause of potty training woes
  2. Continued treatment of headaches 
  3. Dysphagia 

And the verdicts:

  1. Best plan is to rule tethered cord  out via MRI (Jude has an endoscopy scheduled for mid June, they will coordinate with that hospital to do both procedures at once.)
  2. No changes to current preventative meds
  3. It’s always interesting when a doctor says, “Can I be blunt?” Uh, no? Basically, the dysphagia is permanent and we should focus on maintaining what ability to swallow that he has (half nectar thickened liquids). 

We didn’t really have time to process that wealth of information before heading to the court house.

But first, milkshake selfies!

 
That courthouse thing, whew! Last Thursday, I spent hours filling out the documents necessary to file for incompetency and guardianship for Adriana. David, Sharon and I made decisions and shared in the grief that is knowing your child will never be independent. 

The whole process has been a challenge and a fishing game for information over the last six months. Finally, we are on the right path. Officially, filing will happen June 5th, and a hearing is set for July 2nd. The timing is a huge blessing as we need everything done by Adriana’s  18th birthday (which I did not know was the case until last week!). The hearing is 12 days before her birthday! Thank you Lord!

At this point, we arrived home with an hour to spare before parting ways. It was an hour of straight up cleaning and then David was off to the doctor (cortisone shot for his shoulder again) and I went to pick up the girls.

We had thirty minutes back at home to prioritize homework help and snack. Then Lucy and I went to visit the eye doctor (Deja vu from last year!).

 

she was SO anxious

  

waiting room cookies cure all

  

No glasses, yet…

Basically, Lucy has astigmatism and is far sighted. As far as prescriptions go, these two diagnosises cancel each other out (for now, until one or both gets worse). He did say, same as last year, that the far sightedness is developmental and kids mature differently (Clearly, Lucy is on the uber slow side in this department).

Lucy and I swung by the pizza place before heading to t-ball practice, only to pull into the parking lot and have Lucy announce she left her glove, cleats and hat at home!

Of course.

It ended up working out for the best, as I was able to give Avery a babysitting reprieve before heading back to the ball field (After the doctor appointment, David had a much-deserved solo Avengers date to celebrate the end of tax season.) .

 

By 7pm, we were all home at last…briefly! David and Avery ran a dozen cookies over to my aunt and uncle’s house while I finished the daily laundry.
It was a day filled with ‘to do’ items I’d been dreading for weeks, and yet, lots of plans were laid out so perhaps there’s hope for me yet! 

Now…sleep! Tomorrow is suppose to run at a significantly slower pace, can I get an amen?